You can drive without auto insurance in Illinois, but it would be illegal and potentially extremely costly if you are caught or get in an accident. They say an ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure. Well, getting Illinois state minimum auto insurance is that ounce of prevention.
Illinois law requires all drivers to have a minimum amount of coverage. Beyond that number, you are free to purchase more insurance if you choose. The coverage minimums are $25,000 for injury or death of another person in an accident, $50,000 for injury or death of more than one person, and $20,000 for property damage caused to another. As you can see, these mandatory protections are for the benefit of others.
No law is effective without enforcement. Illinois state minimum auto insurance coverage is enforced two ways. The first is through an Electronic Insurance verification process. The state attempts to electronically verify all vehicles remotely. If the first attempt is unsuccessful, a second attempt is made. If this is unsuccessful, then the vehicle’s registration is suspended. Roadway ticketing is the other method of enforcement.
The penalties for driving a vehicle without insurance are steep. The minimum fine is $500. There’s also a $1,000 fine for operating a vehicle with a registration suspended for lack of insurance. Additionally, there is a $100 reinstatement fee for first-time offenders, and for repeat offenders there’s a four-month suspension along with the $100 reinstatement fee.
For more information on Illinois state minimum auto insurance, contact Accurate Auto Insurance.